Freebox Jukebox

E-Touch General Category => Tutorials => Topic started by: fordman on February 26, 2010, 08:26:36 PM

Title: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: fordman on February 26, 2010, 08:26:36 PM
E-touch is already loaded with features, but one of the latest newly added features is the ability to play internet radio!

WOW! This makes E-Touch even better than before!

Lets see how this is done!

In E-Touch Private Release 5.00.32, the ability to add internet radio stations has become a reality!

The internet streams of internet radio are vast and there are many many to choose from. E-Touch user Eist1 has made

a list of many many internet radio stations in many genres.

http://www.iamkizer.net/freeboxjukebox/files/skins/V4skins/Downloads/Internet%20Radio%20Stations.rar (http://www.iamkizer.net/freeboxjukebox/files/skins/V4skins/Downloads/Internet%20Radio%20Stations.rar)

The stations in the download are .asx or .wpl files. These type of files are playable in Windows Media Player, so that makes them playable in E-Touch!

Lets get started!

In the E-Touch Private Release 5.00.32, a 'Radio' button has been added. As of this 02/26/10, the button hasnt been skinned yet but will be soon!  ;) See pic below:

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio4.jpg)

What you need to do is make an 'Internet Radio' folder similar to your music, karaoke or videos folder somewhere on your hard drive:

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio5.jpg)

Within this folder, you need separate folders for each station: see pic above.

After you have made a separate folder for each station, the folder needs to have the station .asx or .wpl file.

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio6.jpg)

Also wee need to make a .tag file with the Non-MP3 Tagger.

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio7.jpg)

Open the Non-MP3 Tagger. You will have to add ;*.asx and ;*.wpl to the mask. When you do, tap/click 'Set Mask', then select the folder where the .asx or .wpl file is located. Fill in the blanks on the right with the appropriate info. Then save the tag.

You will need to find a pic just as with your music, videos or karaoke and rename it cover.jpg and coversmall.jpg repsectively.

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio8.jpg)

As you see in the pic above your folder should look something like it.

Now, open up the Config.

You will see 'Radio' has been added to 'select Library'. choose that and find your internet radio directory, same as you would for music, videos or karaoke files. In the search mask, in the bottom right corner, you will have manually add ;*.wpl;*.asx to the mask. It will automatically save the mask when the Config is closed.

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio9.jpg)

Generate the library as normal. After generating the library, open up E-Touch!

Go into the 'Options - Button Settings' Screen and 'tick' radio.

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio10.jpg)

Once you have 'tick'ed the Radio button you should see it show up on the main screen.

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio4.jpg)

Select Radio and your station should appear!

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio1.jpg)

Select the station as normal:

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio2.jpg)

And it should show like below:

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio3.jpg)

That how its done!

(http://www.ppcomponents.com/etouch/radio11.jpg)

Just add stations at your leisure just the same way and you should be fine!

 :beer

Fordman

Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: eist1 on February 26, 2010, 09:00:23 PM
Awesome job Fordman!!! As always a very informative How-to!! Just to possibly add to this. A folder does not need to be created for each channel (you will not be able to use non-MP3 Tagger, but just make sure to check the Use Filename When Tag NOT Found box in the config, that will name each station the filename), you can also create a folder for each Genre (Rock Stations, Country Stations, Jazz Stations) and each of those folders have multiple stations (.asx or .wpl) of that Genre, so when opening the album folder you will see each station numbered, and can choose one of them. This allows to have many stations of a certain Genre, but not have to page through each album image.

(http://www.iamkizer.net/freeboxjukebox/files/skins/V4skins/Downloads/Radio_Stations.jpg)
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Bondy on March 19, 2010, 04:45:58 PM
Have followed your guide but for some reason it still doesnt pick up any of my .asx radio files i have changed the mask on the e touch config but still wont seem to find the .asx files any ideas what im doing wrong
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: eist1 on March 19, 2010, 04:48:41 PM
Make sure you are using a semicolon ; and not a comma (,) as I was originally using a comma, and it didn't work. It should look like this ;*.asx   Hope that helps.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: kizer on March 19, 2010, 04:53:25 PM
Nice tut. I still haven't played with that feature as of yet.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Bondy on March 19, 2010, 04:57:28 PM
Thanks eist i had been making that mistake but changed it and i still cant find my .asx files on my pc its frustrating as i cant see why it wont find them :(
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: eist1 on March 19, 2010, 05:50:07 PM
This is what I do:

Create a folder C:\My Radio

In that folder create separate folders for each Genre (Rock Stations, Country Stations)

In each of those folders put the .asx files you want. Your path should look like this

C:\My Radio\Rock Stations\80s Hairband.asx

Than open the config and choose the Radio drop down and point it to your My Radio folder *** And Make Sure You are Using "Use File Name if Tag Not Found* Checkbox in the config ***

Also, you will want to verify what version you are using as a version back the config program was broken, and making both Karaoke and Radio the same library name radio.rec. Hope that helps you out
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Bondy on March 19, 2010, 06:11:22 PM
Thanks eist1 for the replay again, thats actually how i have been trying to do it but when it comes to searching for the .asx file it doesnt pick anything up ive read the set up tutorial that was made again and again and i looked at what you put and did it to the same way and still no joy im using version V5.00.33

???
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on March 19, 2010, 06:45:30 PM
Copy the search mask from the config and paste it up here.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: fordman on March 19, 2010, 06:46:12 PM
Did you make a tag with the non-mp3 tagger? Did you set the mask with ;*.asx or ;*.wpl ?

Also, did you check to see if the config mask had ;*.asx or ;*.wpl in it as well?

Fordman
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Bondy on March 19, 2010, 07:11:05 PM
im not sure if this is what you meant but in my mask.ini it says this
Search Mask
*.mp3;*.avi;*.wmv;*.wma;*.wav;*.aac;*.m4a;*.m4p;*.flac;*.mpg;*.mpeg;*.mkv;*.flv;*.mp4;*.asx;*.wpl;

Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: fordman on March 19, 2010, 07:12:45 PM
the mask looks good to me. Did you make a non-mp3 tag?

Fordman
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Bondy on March 19, 2010, 07:21:16 PM
Yeah fordman i made a non mp3 tag it found the file ok then.

I have just tried to use the non mp3 tagger again but now i get this error run time error '380': invalid property value ??????
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Bondy on March 19, 2010, 07:23:18 PM
ok i have cover.jpg NicBondRadio.asx.tag and NicBondRadio.asx all in the folder
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Bondy on March 19, 2010, 07:26:47 PM
now if i open the e-touch config i get this error occured: 380
Description: invalid property Value
Module : Module1
Function: Save_mask

any ideas what i have done guys
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: fordman on March 19, 2010, 07:49:06 PM
Maybe do a re-install of E-Touch. You seem to be doing what is supposed to be done. Maybe Barry is your source for help on this one???

Fordman
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on March 19, 2010, 08:07:36 PM
now if i open the e-touch config i get this error occured: 380
Description: invalid property Value
Module : Module1
Function: Save_mask

any ideas what i have done guys

open the mask.ini and delete what you see and paste this in

*.mp3;*.avi;*.wmv;*.wma;*.wav;*.aac;*.m4a;*.m4p;*.flac;*.mpg;*.mpeg;*.mkv;*.flv;*.mp4;*.asx;*.wpl

in your mask you had a ; on the end.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: d78 on December 29, 2010, 07:43:48 PM
STICKY THIS! :)
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: d78 on October 21, 2011, 04:05:45 PM
The pic links on the first post are all broken. :(
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on October 21, 2011, 04:08:25 PM
I think it's all falling apart around us.  :downer
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: hellrazaa on April 18, 2013, 12:17:27 AM
I've been saving winamp playlist, which are m3u and converting them to asx or wpl with a program called M3UtoASX. Just something people might appreciate to know. It will get your radio stations up as well.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: FixitFelix on August 24, 2013, 07:50:23 PM
I am racking my brains trying to get this working i have done everything above, my jukebox picks up the stations but when i select them and "play now" nothing plays :'( it shows the station in the corner but no sound,
Do i need to donate for this feature to work? Its not a problem if i do just wanted to test it out first with this working 8)
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on August 25, 2013, 09:54:13 AM
I am racking my brains trying to get this working i have done everything above, my jukebox picks up the stations but when i select them and "play now" nothing plays :'( it shows the station in the corner but no sound,
Do i need to donate for this feature to work? Its not a problem if i do just wanted to test it out first with this working 8)

You need to check that you can play these in media player.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: FixitFelix on August 25, 2013, 03:03:05 PM
I am racking my brains trying to get this working i have done everything above, my jukebox picks up the stations but when i select them and "play now" nothing plays :'( it shows the station in the corner but no sound,
Do i need to donate for this feature to work? Its not a problem if i do just wanted to test it out first with this working 8)

You need to check that you can play these in media player.

Sorry I'm totally new to this how do I go about playing them in media player ?
Do I just try to open them within MP or is ther some way it needs to be done?

Any help much appreciated
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on August 25, 2013, 03:36:43 PM
I am racking my brains trying to get this working i have done everything above, my jukebox picks up the stations but when i select them and "play now" nothing plays :'( it shows the station in the corner but no sound,
Do i need to donate for this feature to work? Its not a problem if i do just wanted to test it out first with this working 8)

You need to check that you can play these in media player.

Sorry I'm totally new to this how do I go about playing them in media player ?
Do I just try to open them within MP or is ther some way it needs to be done?

Any help much appreciated

You should be able to double click the file and it should start playing in media player.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: FixitFelix on August 25, 2013, 05:15:23 PM
I am racking my brains trying to get this working i have done everything above, my jukebox picks up the stations but when i select them and "play now" nothing plays :'( it shows the station in the corner but no sound,
Do i need to donate for this feature to work? Its not a problem if i do just wanted to test it out first with this working 8)

You need to check that you can play these in media player.

Sorry I'm totally new to this how do I go about playing them in media player ?
Do I just try to open them within MP or is ther some way it needs to be done?

Any help much appreciated

You should be able to double click the file and it should start playing in media player.

It dosesnt play them mate it just gives an error saying this file cannot be played
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on August 25, 2013, 09:44:39 PM
I am racking my brains trying to get this working i have done everything above, my jukebox picks up the stations but when i select them and "play now" nothing plays :'( it shows the station in the corner but no sound,
Do i need to donate for this feature to work? Its not a problem if i do just wanted to test it out first with this working 8)

You need to check that you can play these in media player.

Sorry I'm totally new to this how do I go about playing them in media player ?
Do I just try to open them within MP or is ther some way it needs to be done?

Any help much appreciated

You should be able to double click the file and it should start playing in media player.

It dosesnt play them mate it just gives an error saying this file cannot be played

Then that is wy E-Touch can't play them you have soemthing set up wrong.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: FixitFelix on August 25, 2013, 10:44:56 PM
I am racking my brains trying to get this working i have done everything above, my jukebox picks up the stations but when i select them and "play now" nothing plays :'( it shows the station in the corner but no sound,
Do i need to donate for this feature to work? Its not a problem if i do just wanted to test it out first with this working 8)

You need to check that you can play these in media player.

Sorry I'm totally new to this how do I go about playing them in media player ?
Do I just try to open them within MP or is ther some way it needs to be done?

Any help much appreciated

You should be able to double click the file and it should start playing in media player.

It dosesnt play them mate it just gives an error saying this file cannot be played

Then that is wy E-Touch can't play them you have soemthing set up wrong.

Any ideas what I could be doing wrong? I've changed nothing myself
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on September 06, 2013, 11:12:24 AM
Where are you getting your stations from?
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: NIVO on July 27, 2015, 06:04:20 AM
Ive setup 3 radio stations just to test so far. All have used non-mp3 tagger. Have covers assigned, correct path etc etc. The problem I have is this: Click Radio button>click 80's Hairband button>etouch goes to playlist, click station link(track)>station connects then a few seconds later it connects again. So I always hear 2 instances of the station plying about 10 seconds apart. Apparently its opening the actual webpage/player as well on the desktop? Also if i go back to radio and click on another station 80's hairband doesnt stop playing. So now I have 3 stations echoing over top of each other. I'll show you a pic of my directory as Im sure its right, and non mp3 tagger worked just fine. Otherwise Im sure I wouldnt have made it this far.

Pic of directory and pic of tagger info
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on July 27, 2015, 08:51:40 AM
Sounds like you might not have media player set as the default player for those files.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: NIVO on August 01, 2015, 05:21:17 PM
file associations for asx are set to WMP. have no idea why it wants to open the web page of the net radio station in the background either. It starts out fine, then proceeds to play 2 more instances after so you a 3 echo effect of the same stream.


Also one other question. Is there any way to alter the default media player to use instead of WMP? Because I cant get any metadata from the station to display at all. Playing the exact same asx file in Winamp shows artist and track name fine every time. WMP wont show it at all, and those stations ARE broadcasting it as winamp picks it up immediately. Also winamp has much much better visualizations imo.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on August 03, 2015, 02:49:09 PM
Ah, only just found out winamp is back from the dead. Unfortunately there isn't a way to have anything other than WMP with E-touch. Check your WMP settings and make sure you don't have it set to alter your media from the internet and such like as that might be why it's opening a web page. I no longer have the radio stations even set up on my build because the auto DJ with related track playing provides a better experience, i just pick a track and all that follow on random are based of each other. If i play classic rock it tends to stick with classic rock, likewise with indie or pop etc. I will see if i still have any radio station files and see if i can recreate your issue on my machine.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: NIVO on August 03, 2015, 06:04:11 PM
thx barry. Yea shame we cant use winamp. I still use it everyday on my pc's. It has alot going for it. DSP/FREE visual plugins!!!!! as well as EQ adjustments/metadata natively(as long as stations are broadcasting it). I despise WMP and its monetary system and its privacy "i need to know everything you are doing" crap.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Barcrest on August 04, 2015, 12:26:11 PM
thx barry. Yea shame we cant use winamp. I still use it everyday on my pc's. It has alot going for it. DSP/FREE visual plugins!!!!! as well as EQ adjustments/metadata natively(as long as stations are broadcasting it). I despise WMP and its monetary system and its privacy "i need to know everything you are doing" crap.

Issue is winamp cannot be controlled externally reliably which is why i dropped my attempt to support many years ago. That and it also was pulled from existence, it appears to have come back probably with new owners. It also has it's own share of issues with plugins that include malware, wildtangent i'm looking at you.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: dilligas2u on February 13, 2016, 12:58:50 PM
Does anyone still have this http://www.iamkizer.net/freeboxjukebox/files/skins/V4skins/Downloads/Internet%20Radio%20Stations.rar file?
Thanks
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Mark Norville on February 13, 2016, 01:10:00 PM
Would it be worth finding that file? The chances are that it does not work now anyway especially if it is from 4.0 that must have been quite a few years ago and times have changed a lot since then, not just new radio stations, but some are off the air and some have changed frequency.

You might go here for channels and frequency https://www.internet-radio.com/

Regards

Mark
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: ecbrad on February 14, 2016, 09:07:49 AM
Here you go.

Cheers,
BraD
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: dilligas2u on February 14, 2016, 04:06:54 PM
Thanks
 now to see if I can do anything with it
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Mark Norville on February 14, 2016, 04:50:05 PM
I downloaded and had a look but good luck a lot of old data that needs updating. The files that are there are not a lot and need a massive update.
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: dilligas2u on February 15, 2016, 10:47:27 AM
Some good feeds but how do you get them to the asx so yoou can tag them?
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: ecbrad on February 15, 2016, 10:53:33 PM
Some good feeds but how do you get them to the asx so yoou can tag them?

I honestly have no idea. I couldn't get it to work even with the tutorial so gave it up. I only have the file as I'm a notorious hoarder ;)

Brad
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: dilligas2u on February 16, 2016, 10:28:29 AM
I guess what I'm after is if I find a feed I like. How do I make it into an asx file?
Title: Re: E-Touch Internet Radio Tutorial
Post by: Mark Norville on February 16, 2016, 11:14:57 AM
Youtube is a wonderful thing https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=how+to+make+an+asx+file

Hopefully you might find a video that shows you how to do it.

Regards

Mark