Freebox Jukebox

E-Touch Skins => Skin Showcase => Topic started by: berrywell on September 27, 2016, 12:10:36 PM

Title: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on September 27, 2016, 12:10:36 PM
I've been busy working on my first ever skin for what seems like forever now but thankfully It's just about complete, I'm just tinkering with the final little bits n pieces here and there...

Anyway, my skin is a 1920x1080 resolution skin, which I've called 'Red n Black HD' .

This skin is now available to download from the Private Skins section of this forum

I've listed four screenshots below of my new skin...

The main home page...

(http://www.berrywell.uk/jukebox/red_main_page.jpg)
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on September 27, 2016, 12:10:56 PM
Song Listing page...

(http://www.berrywell.uk/jukebox/red_song_list.jpg)
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on September 27, 2016, 12:11:17 PM
History Page...

(http://www.berrywell.uk/jukebox/red_history_page.jpg)
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on September 27, 2016, 12:11:35 PM
and finally the Search Page...

(http://www.berrywell.uk/jukebox/red_search_page.jpg)
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Mark Norville on September 27, 2016, 12:19:08 PM
Loving the big buttons I cant see much else as on my other monitor so I am on portrait rather than landscape, but I do like those buttons.

Shall have a look as soon as these updates are completed on the other machine.

Regards

Mark
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Barcrest on September 27, 2016, 12:21:06 PM
Finally a new skin, looks good dude.
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on September 27, 2016, 01:19:09 PM
Loving the big buttons I cant see much else as on my other monitor so I am on portrait rather than landscape, but I do like those buttons.

Shall have a look as soon as these updates are completed on the other machine.

Regards

Mark

The big buttons inspiration came from the Sound Leisure (MiM) jukebox they have in my local pub, I did try and replicate it quite closely to start with until I realised it didn't appear to have any uniformity to their skin.

I don't know if you found the same problem when making your skins, but I found it very difficult not to replicate buttons from previous older skins. On several occasions I made a few buttons only to discover they were nigh on identical to older skins and it looked like I had just half inched them, very frustrating.

Finally a new skin, looks good dude.
Thank you, Sorry that it's not a 4:3 skin though.


Do many people still use 4:3 touchscreen monitor?
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Mark Norville on September 27, 2016, 02:05:49 PM
I have all three now. You will have 43 on older cabs, 169 on monitors and I am 768 x 1366 on my new monitor.

I will be using the 32 inch now for my jukebox but will finish off the skins for it.

Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Gaucho on September 27, 2016, 03:43:11 PM
Nice job.

All I have managed to do is create a couple of buttons so far  ::)
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Mark Norville on September 27, 2016, 03:52:32 PM

I don't know if you found the same problem when making your skins, but I found it very difficult not to replicate buttons from previous older skins. On several occasions I made a few buttons only to discover they were nigh on identical to older skins and it looked like I had just half inched them, very frustrating.


God no, to be honest I wanted to clone NSM and other jukeboxes. I would not copy any of the previous skins, as I said to you think outside of the box. You have done good graphics, which I am going to try and copy I thought you said you was no good at photoshop? lol

I am not sure if I will make them chrome, but I do want your background images on a button. At the moment I am still sorting out computers but I am puzzled at the moment as the card is the same a 710 GTX but one is from ASUS and one is from Gigabyte, both 1 gig DDR3.

The ASUS has a rating of 5.3 and 6.7 for graphics and yet the Gigabyte has 2.5 and 6.7 for Aero and and gaming graphics.

I shall finish this quickly as display is going crazy.
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on September 30, 2016, 01:29:57 PM
If you like the look of this skin, it's now available to download from the Private Skins section of this forum. :)
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Mark Norville on September 30, 2016, 02:15:17 PM
Swine I do not have access to that lol
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on September 30, 2016, 02:38:24 PM
Swine I do not have access to that lol

You haven't? How come? Doesn't everyone with a paid up version of E-Touch get access to the Private skins section??
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Barcrest on September 30, 2016, 02:56:13 PM
Swine I do not have access to that lol

You haven't? How come? Doesn't everyone with a paid up version of E-Touch get access to the Private skins section??

The private section if for Lifetime members and commercial users, Mark is a V9 supporter. There is a V10 Skin releases section that V10 supporters can access.
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Mark Norville on September 30, 2016, 03:18:45 PM
I will eventually upgrade just to give you a few more beer tokens, but wont be this month, as been spending and spending. I just brought a 780 ti GTX graphics card for the arcade machine, and I still need to buy a hard drive which is going to be my months spending so I will be looking at November or possibly holding back until next year with Xmas coming up.

Credit cards are handy but paying them back is a pain, but with out it I wouldn't have been able to buy my 32 inch monitor, which is touch screen by the way, just incase I have not mentioned that before ;) Three graphics cards, a 610, 710 now a 780. A computer, a SSD and of course beer.

I am looking at a 4tb as apparently they are supposed to be better than the 3tb which I was quite shocked about, but according to graphs they are less likely to fail than the 3tb versions.

I think you have my email Tel, if you want to send it, so I can have a look at those buttons, and how you get those buttons on the left lol

Regards

Mark
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: fatfoot123 on February 18, 2017, 06:18:12 AM
Hi Berrywell
Do you have this skin in 1024 x 768 24 cover you know me
Ta Fatfoot
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on February 19, 2017, 07:38:18 PM
Hi Fatfoot,

Sadly, I don't have a 1024x768 version of this skin.
Basically, this was the first ever skin I made for E-Touch and a massive learning curve it was too. Thing is, I made the cardinal sin of not saving & keeping the gimp layer files, I only have the graphics in the format that are in the actual skin folder (.png .jpg etc.). So any converting may be quite time consuming.

I may look at converting it to 1024 resolution in the future but at the moment, I don't really have the time, sorry.

Thanks for showing interest though :)

Regards

Tel.
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: fatfoot123 on February 20, 2017, 12:38:35 AM
No problem all your skins are great
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Barcrest on February 20, 2017, 11:22:53 AM
You could try and convert is in the skintool. You only need to resize the back ground images then.
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: berrywell on February 20, 2017, 02:58:13 PM
You could try and convert is in the skintool. You only need to resize the back ground images then.

Hi Barry,

I've found with the re-size option in the skin tool that it only works when resizing upwards.

e.g. a 1024x768 upscaled to, say a 1920x1080 the skin tool will scale this up reasonably well.
However, a 1920x1080 won't scale down, it will leave the buttons etc. off the side of the screen when it's resized down to, say, a1024x768.
Title: Re: My New Skin (Red n Black HD)
Post by: Barcrest on February 21, 2017, 01:28:37 PM
You could try and convert is in the skintool. You only need to resize the back ground images then.

Hi Barry,

I've found with the re-size option in the skin tool that it only works when resizing upwards.

e.g. a 1024x768 upscaled to, say a 1920x1080 the skin tool will scale this up reasonably well.
However, a 1920x1080 won't scale down, it will leave the buttons etc. off the side of the screen when it's resized down to, say, a1024x768.

I was able to resize a 1024x768 down to 800x600 nut they are the same aspect ratio maybe that is why. It doesn't do a great job i know there is always some manual tweaking needed after.